The Grand Design
Memeber's Area My Account
Sign upForgot password
Find our Stores
The Grand Design
Author Stephen Hawking
Publisher Bantam
ISBN 9780553819229
Classification Natural Science > Physics
Price HK$160.00
Exchange Rate is just for reference
Exchange Rate Reference
Exchange Rate is just for reference
Product details are for reference only. Please call or visit our stores to confirm the stock in advance.
 More information
When and how did the universe begin? Why are we here? What is the nature of reality? Is the apparent “grand design” of our universe evidence of a benevolent creator who set things in motion—or does science offer another explanation? In this startling and lavishly illustrated book, Stephen Hawking and Leonard Mlodinow present the most recent scientific thinking about these and other abiding mysteries of the universe, in nontechnical language marked by brilliance and simplicity.

According to quantum theory, the cosmos does not have just a single existence or history. The authors explain that we ourselves are the product of quantum fluctuations in the early universe, and show how quantum theory predicts the “multiverse”—the idea that ours is just one of many universes that appeared spontaneously out of nothing, each with different laws of nature. They conclude with a riveting assessment of M-theory, an explanation of the laws governing our universe that is currently the only viable candidate for a “theory of everything”: the unified theory that Einstein was looking for, which, if confirmed, would represent the ultimate triumph of human reason.

About the Author:

STEPHEN HAWKING is Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge and the author of several books for the general reader, including the worldwide publishing phenomenon A Brief History of Time and its more accessible version, published in 2005: A Briefer History of Time (written with Leonard Mlodinow); The Universe in a Nutshell; The Illustrated A Brief History of Time; and the essay collection Black Holes and Baby Universes. Physicist LEONARD MLODINOW, who teaches at Caltech, is most recently the author of the bestselling and widely praised The Drunkard's Walk as well as Euclid's Window and Feynman's Rainbow.

1. The Mystery of Being

2. The Rule of Law

3. What is Reality?

4. Alternative Histories

5. The Theory of Everything

6. Choosing Our Universe

7. The Apparent Miracle

8. The Grand Design

This website best view with 1024x768; Chrome/Firefox/Internet Explorer 9.0+
©1999-2019 Commercial Press (HK) Cyberbooks Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Save in Hold Area